Friday, 9 March 2007

Results of NI Assembly Election (sorted by political party)

Ian Paisley's Democratic Unionist Party has emerged as the largest party in Northern Ireland's Assembly election. His party secured 36 of the 108 seats, with Sinn Fein taking 28. The Ulster Unionist Party won 18 seats, the SDLP 16, and the Alliance Party seven seats.

Secretary of State Peter Hain has warned he needs an answer from the parties in a fortnight if the 26 March deadline for devolution is to be met. He said the assembly would close if they did not sign up to power-sharing.

If a power-sharing executive is formed it will have 4 DUP ministers, 3 Sinn Fein, 2 UUP and 1 SDLP.

BBC News: